Cambridge Residents’ Division over Bike Lane Expansion Continues


Harvard to Open 24/7 Study Spaces for Graduate Student Reading Weeks


As Cambridge Emergency Shelter Struggles to Meet Needs, Chelsea Nonprofit Provides Resources to Families


HUHS Saw Fewer Virtual Appointments, Mental Health Visits in FY 2023


Harvard Freshmen Will Have Swipe Access to Upperclassman Houses During ‘River Run,’ DSO Says

16 Representatives Elected to the Undergraduate Council

The Undergraduate Council had a weekly meeting on Sunday at the Issacson Room in Smith Campus Center Collaborative Commons.
The Undergraduate Council had a weekly meeting on Sunday at the Issacson Room in Smith Campus Center Collaborative Commons. By MyeongSeo Kim
By Sharon Xu, Crimson Staff Writer

Sixteen students were elected to the Undergraduate Council in the recent midterm elections, according to UC election commission chair Perry M. Arrasmith ’20.

Thirty-seven students ran for 16 open seats on the Council. Five candidates ultimately withdrew from the race.

One of those who withdrew was Dhilan Ramaprasad ’21, who earned the highest amount of votes in the election for Mather House — despite the fact that he didn’t plan to run in the first place. Ramaprasad wrote in an email that he ended up on the ballot because his friends submitted his name for the Council midterm elections.

Ramaprasad wished the new Mather UC reps, Zachary A. Zimmer ’22 and Jinyuan “Ryan” Zhang ’21, a successful semester.

“They’re great people, and I know they’ll do good work,” Ramaprasad wrote in an email to The Crimson.

Two write-in candidates won seats on the Council — Maximilian “Max” J. Wang ’20 of Pforzheimer House and Shlomo T. Zach Cahlon ’21 of Winthrop House.

The voting period for the election lasted from Tuesday at noon and concluded Friday at noon.

More students voted in the midterm election this year than in previous years, with a total of 736 votes cast this year. In comparison, just 154 students voted in the UC midterm elections last year, and 371 students voted in 2018.

Voter turnout was highest in Quincy House with 142 voters, followed by Elm Yard with 123. Winthrop House had the fewest students voting, with only 29 votes cast in the election.

The Council held its first meeting with its new representatives on Sunday.

The newly elected representatives for the Undergraduate Council are as follows:

Adams House

Ilan M. Goldberg ’20

Cabot House

Daniel R. Brunnick ’22

Kirkland House

Jacqueline F. Tubbs ’22

Davis J. Tyler-Dudley ’21

Leverett House

John “Jake” E. Leary III ’22

Benjamin S. Rabinowitz ’21

Lowell House

Oliver S. York ’21

Mather House

Zachary A. Zimmer ’22

Jinyuan “Ryan” Zhang ’21

Pforzheimer House

Analli C. Torres ’21

Maximilian “Max” J. Wang ’20

Quincy House

Matthew S. Miller ’21

Benjamin M. Simon ’22

Winthrop House

Angel U. Onuoha-Onyekuru ’20

Schlomo T. Zach Cahlon ’21

Elm Yard

Emilio J. De Leon ’23

—Staff writer Sharon Xu can be reached at

Want to keep up with breaking news? Subscribe to our email newsletter.

CollegeUndergraduate CouncilStudent GroupsCollege LifeCollege News

Related Articles

37 Students Declare Candidacies for UC Midterm Elections37 Candidates Are Running for Harvard's Undergraduate Council. Two of Them Don't Want to Be.